Pope Moron XIV

Oh yeah, I’m ad homineming. I don’t even care. Why? Because I’m sick of Pope Benedict XIV spewing dangerous nonsense like this:

Is it not true that inconsiderate use of creation begins where God is marginalized or also where his existence is denied? If the human creature’s relationship with the Creator weakens, matter is reduced to egoistic possession, man becomes the “final authority,” and the objective of existence is reduced to a feverish race to possess the most possible.

You are going to get us all killed you selfish, short-sighted, intolerant hypocrite. Also, thanks for considering women in your little speech there about the “final authority”, once again passively providing reason for religious psychopaths to have an excuse to rape us (since we are not fully people, beyond consideration in such matters – what’s important is “man”, man is interchangeable with people).

Possess the most possible? So you live in a shack with tattered robes and living off only what is necessary to survive? Oh wait I forgot, you live in a giant castle of golden treasures surrounded by poor people. Any chance of giving any of that to your people any time soon to cast off your egoistic possession? Yeah, that’s what I thought.

There is NO indication whatsoever that there is an unusual representation of atheists in prisons or that we are harmful to society in any other way. We organize charities or take part in other charitable groups. We have our own morals and ethics, governed by our respect for humankind and acknowledgement that this is the life we get. We don’t need a man in the sky to tell us to behave. And we certainly don’t need a castle full of treasure to keep ourselves comfortable while we endure this mortal existence with people like you trying ever so hard to make our lives a living hell by creating and justifying hate towards non-theists.

I am an atheist. I am relatively poor. I do not possess the most possible, nor do I seek such uselessness. I do not live in a castle. I do not make decisions for other people that contribute to the spread of AIDS. I do not make women feel ashamed of their own bodies. I do not make gays commit suicide in their teens because of the social stigma I’ve continued to support. I do acknowledge the discoveries of science that help people live longer and healthier lives. I do respect the right for people to spend the 80 years or so they have to live on whatever the hell they want, as long as they aren’t hurting anyone else.

If you want to find something to loath, look in the mirror. Don’t lay it off on us. We’re just trying to exist.

2 responses to “Pope Moron XIV

  1. “the objective of existence is reduced to a feverish race to possess the most possible…”

    That’s rich (no pun intended) coming from the head of the CATHOLIC FREAKING CHURCH!

    And honestly, is having [hu]man as the final authority such a bad thing? We humans are flawed and imperfect creatures to be sure, but have developed science, which helps us discern fantasy from reality. It helps us learn that condoms are extremely effective at preventing AIDS transmission…

    And yet the “pro-life” Catholic church continues to forbid condom use in areas where AIDS is truly epidemic. That’s heartless.

    I’m an atheist, so I’m generally not too keen on religion in general, but as long as the pope uses the unparalleled power of the Catholic church to spread lies, disinformation and fear about condom use in AIDS-stricken areas, I will continue to think of them as one of the vilest human beings alive today.

    • Honestly I don’t see what the difference is between human final authority and human-interpreted god authority, anyway. If the argument is that humans are flawed and therefore bad, then maybe god should stop dicking the Catholics around by only speaking through one MAN (a human, and only representative of half the species). His argument makes no sense…not that I expected more than that.