SickKids update

A few days ago I wrote an email to the SickKids grants director. She wrote back (and spelled my name wrong) and I replied.

Dear Ms. [misspelled name], thank you so much for your email regarding the Autism Canada Conference.  We appreciate your concerns and take your feedback seriously. As your email seemed to be questioning the content of the conference and the involvement of Autism One, I thought it was important for you to hear from conference organizer who can address your specific concerns. I have forwarded your comments to Laurie Mawlam, Executive Director of Autism Canada who would be happy to discuss details of the conference, “Changing the Course of Autism in Canada” with you. You can also contact Laurie directly at:

Laurie Mawlam Executive Director
P.O. Box 366
Bothwell, ON  N0P 1C0
(519) 695-5858
lmawlam@autismcanada.org
http://www.autismcanada.org

Many thanks,

Pam Gilliland
Grants Officer, National Grants
SickKids Foundation
525 University Avenue, 14th Floor
Toronto, Ontario  M5G 2L3
(P) 416.813.6166 x 2354
(F) 416.813.7311
http://www.sickkidsfoundation.com/nationalgrants

I replied:

Thank you for the info and for replying. Just to clarify, I was writing about the awarding of a grant in the first place to a group known for its unfounded opposition to vaccination. It’s possible that they won’t bring this up at the conference (although their history says they will), but the information on their website and their core beliefs indicate that they oppose vaccines because they are “toxic”. SickKids being associated with such a group, especially giving them money, lends false legitimacy to their dangerous claims.

Also, just to be clear my name is spelled [corrected] not [misspelled]. Thank you.

[my name]

They seem to have misunderstood my intentions a bit, hence my clarification. We’ll see what comes next, and I will update as always. Also note that there was no actual response. It was “we got your email, here’s some other person’s email.”

Comments are closed.