Being skepical at work #3

Statement: “You know that old show from the 60s or something, Mr. Ed? Did you know that was actually a zebra??”

Claim: The animal playing Mr. Ed from the show of the same name was actually a zebra.

My initial reaction: *cough* bullshit! *cough*

Result of research: TRUE!

Turns out, according to Snopes, Mr. Ed was indeed a zebra! Insane, right? But there it is in black and white (pardon the pun). :)

A zebra, as you know, is striped black and white but physically looks identical to a horse. Mr. Ed was a solid white color. So you’d think these two facts are incompatible and there’s no way Mr. Ed could possibly be a zebra…. but you are forgetting about the limitations of television at the time. Back in the 60s they didn’t have High Def TV and satellite technology to transmit perfectly clear pictures. Turns out a very smart TV executive realized zebras, who are smaller and more manageable than North American horses, show up as a blurry white because the black stripes get washed out.

I for one was shocked by this tidbit and was happy my friend told me. I use it as an interesting way to start conversations at parties all the time. It’s a great ice-breaker!

5 responses to “Being skepical at work #3

  1. Call me Paul

    A cautionary tale, to be sure. Why, just yesterday, I was telling everyone I know to get their ass to Snopes before sending me silly virus warnings.

  2. Mojo, you’re such a shit-disturber. :)

  3. Tis the season!!!

  4. Well April Fool’s Day is over for another year so I might as well end the joke now. No, Mr. Ed was not played by a zebra (http://www.snopes.com/lost/false.asp).

    I love Snopes so much. They even go so far as to purposely lie to us just so show how easy it is to fall for stupid crap and spur us to seek out more than just them for information.

    I seriously hope I didn’t convince anyone but if I did, shame on me. If it happens again though… well…

    Happy April Fool’s Day!!!!!!

  5. Well April Fool’s Day is over for another year so I might as well end the joke now. No, Mr. Ed was not played by a zebra (http://www.snopes.com/lost/false.asp).

    I love Snopes so much. They even go so far as to purposely lie to us just so show how easy it is to fall for stupid crap and spur us to seek out more than just them for information.

    I seriously hope I didn’t convince anyone but if I did, shame on me. If it happens again though… well…

    Happy April Fool’s Day!!!!!!