Dora’s a tween slut!

Mom’s are pissed at a new “updated”, and slightly more slutty, Dora the Explorer. Nickelodeon’s response? “Stop being so histrionic you hysterical mothers, you. Just calm down and have a Pop Tart until you can see we were right and you were freaking out about nothing – as usual. Women are adorable.”

UPDATE: Reader, Kay, shares that Strawberry Shortcake got a similar makeover, because the young girls of today don’t relate bloomers and freckles. I guess they relate to form fitting clothing and lip gloss.

9 responses to “Dora’s a tween slut!

  1. What exactly makes her slutty?

    She is thinner.. (gag) and more grown up looking sure.. but she is also 8 now, not 5 right?

    Speaking of this though, have you seen the new and updated strawberry Shortcake?

    http://contexts.org/socimages/2008/06/16/strawberry-shortcake-extreme-makeover-edition/

  2. Nothing, really. I sometimes just love getting caught up in the sensationalism. Besides, you can see it in her EYES. She’s like “I totally gave that guy a blow job.” Just kidding. :)

  3. Nothing, really. I sometimes just love getting caught up in the sensationalism. Besides, you can see it in her EYES. She’s like “I totally gave that guy a blow job.” Just kidding. :)

  4. An empire waist as form-fitting? Hardly. But the leotard-pants things are I guess. Are the 80s still in fashion?

    Dora has to grow up I guess.

  5. My reference to “form-fitting” was re: Miss Shortcake.

  6. To clarify: Dora being changed I’m actually pretty ambivalent about It was Nikelodeon’s response that I found a bit grating. Although it does smack of typical “watering down” or “unnecessary change-up” of a brand to appeal to “more people” by annoying the fans they had in the first place. (Anyway, what’s with this aging cartoon character thing? The Simpsons has been on for 20 years and Bart is still 10 years old.)

    “Pretty much the moms who are petitioning aging Dora up certainly don’t understand. … I think they’re going to be pleasantly happy once this is available in October, and once they understand this certainly isn’t what they are conjuring up.”

    The statement pretty much dismisses any concerns as hysterical and fails to address them at all. Because obviously if moms don’t agree with the change it’s not because they have a well thought out concern, it’s because they don’t understand and are conjuring things up. If they feel moms don’t understand, how about they explain instead of releasing condescending non-statements?

    It said to me “lack of respect for moms” at worst and “I really don’t think before I speak” at best.

  7. Being a smelly, dirty boy, I guess I can’t really get too riled up about these kinds of changes.

    As a matter of gender consistency, I wonder how many of these “soccer moms” get riled up about the hyper-masculine depictions of the characters in G.I. Joe, He-Man or any of the other toys I grew up with, filled with shame that my abs and pecs will never be so hard that you can grate cheese on them? It seems like many complaining about idealized gender depictions almost always do so about idealized feminine representations, and rarely (if ever) about the masculine side.

    While I’m on the topic, look at how transgendered people are depicted! Anyway, I digress…

    The whole reason I was going to post a comment on this is that I don’t understand the NEED to remake Dora. Dora was a money-making mega-empire for her copyright holders, and it seemed to be doing just fine without being “fixed”.

    I think there’s a aphorism about things being fixed if they don’t need to be fixed. Wait! I remember!

    “Does the pope shit in the woods?”

    Something like that.

  8. Steve: Yes, the whole thing is rather silly.

  9. I think the aphorism goes “if it ain’t broke, don’t give it any money”.