Watchmen – An objective (?) review

I have the advantage of not being a “fangirl” of Watchmen. I have never read the series. So hopefully that allows me some objectivity in giving a movie review. I won’t discuss specifics, so there will be no spoilers.

I’ll start with the good:

1. The opening sequence = awesome. It was genuinely well done and entertaining. I wished I could have watched it twice to take everything in.

2. I did a little research, and they have really stayed mostly true to the source material. If that’s a big thing for you, you’ll be pleased.

3. The music. I can’t really say any more without ruining the effect.

4. The look and feel of the movie was very engaging. They generally picked the right actors to play each part, the mood, the lighting…everything was great-looking.

But…there were some things:

1. The movie was loooooooong. It was pretty full at the beginning and started to drag a little towards the last half. It wasn’t unbearable or anything, but there were several cut-able scenes that make sense in terms of detail in a book that aren’t necessary for a movie narrative.

2. Veidt was a bit wooden. It was a little distracting every time he spoke.

3. There was a certain scene in demonstrating The Comedian’s character that could have been done a little less graphically without losing the point and I think it would have been an improvement. I’m sure that won’t be a popular opinion with the “no you need it to get the *feel* for his character blah blah” people, but to that I say: it would be perfectly obvious what his character is about from the other events and a more carefully shot version of that particular event. I don’t need such excruciating detail for that one incident to make a determination about his character overall.

4. The movie goes from quiet to loud and back in a split-second, which can be murder on the ears depending on where in that spectrum the theatre decides to place the volume. Our theatre erred on the side of “loud” so at times it was actually painful to listen to the sound effects of certain scenes which distracted from enjoying the movie. Not really the movie’s fault, but it may be a problem for people at a loud theatre.

All in all, a great comic flick with some minor annoyances. Go see it.

One response to “Watchmen – An objective (?) review

  1. Oh, and I almost forgot: previews for Star Trek, Wolverine, and Terminator Salvation. [squeeeee] Total nerdgasm.