Comment Malfunction

Hi all, I have received a few emails that the comments section wasn’t working. This has been resolved (I turned off the word verification) for the time being. Sorry for the inconvenience. Comment away.

12 responses to “Comment Malfunction

  1. I started following the whole drama infested freak out yesterday… even going back and reading that December post.

    And I hate the way it all went down. I had actually written something and was planning on posting it in the comment section later (when I wasn’t at work) before the thread got shut down. But believe me, I ranted about it to poor Anthroslug on the phone last night for longer than was probably appreciated.

    Kimb: You were and still are in the right. I have to say I agree with you wholeheartedly. Not only should the original post not have been deleted, but the way in which it was handled afterwards was just stupid. And the degeneration into perceived past ill will was not only annoying but useless and totally insane.

    I dislike the AIs even though I understand why they are there.

  2. I started following the whole drama infested freak out yesterday… even going back and reading that December post.

    Ok ignore that last one.. I have issues with copy/paste it seems. Here is my real comment:

    And I hate the way it all went down. I had actually written something and was planning on posting it in the comment section later (when I wasn’t at work) before the thread got shut down. But believe me, I ranted about it to poor Anthroslug on the phone last night for longer than was probably appreciated.

    Kimbo: You were and still are in the right. I have to say I agree with you wholeheartedly. Not only should the original post not have been deleted, but the way in which it was handled afterwards was just stupid. And the degeneration into perceived past ill will was not only annoying but useless and totally insane.

    I dislike the AIs even though I understand why they are there.

    I hate the bully mentality of the “in crowd” and I wish mightily that I had been clued in earlier so that I could have said something before now so that you would know that at least someone out here in cyberworld was on your side.

  3. Thanks, Kay. I appreciate your support. A simple statement of opinion turned into a childish grudge-match so gradually it was hard to pick up at first until I was already elbow deep in futile protest.

  4. I agree with Kay that you had been treated rather unfairly, and I am sorry to hear that you decided ot leave a place that you used to enjoy (though, to be honest, I have to agree with your assesment of what the place has become).

    The whole thing reminded me of an internet bulletin board I used to participate in. It was allegedly dedicated to bad movies, but most of the members discussed everything ranging from politics to religion to personal issues. Despite the fact that we all disagreed with each other on something, in fact many things, we all got along and had some great discussions.

    And then, one day, out of the blue, a few new members began to turn every thread into a venue to vent their spleens and throw accusations, and it went from being a fun place to post and read to being just another place where people over-reacted and attacked each other.

    On top of that, the content provided by the message boards owners got more watered down as they did other things with their time (really, good for them, but it did lead to a less interesting board), and eventually, I just wandered away. I still go over every now and again, but what was once a thriving online community with interesting discussion and thousands of posts per day is now a ghost-town of a message board that sometimes doesn’t move for days on end and has discussions that range from bland to annoying.

  5. Oh I see, it is here,

    Comment joy!

  6. Oh I see, it is here,

    Comment joy!

  7. Further to what Kay said, I bet there were a lot of silent spectators to that thread, and you had more allies than you realized. It was unfortunate that none spoke up, but that seems to happen once a few people get into a heated argument (no one else wants to become their targets). People were being jerks, it was pretty obvious to probably everyone but themselves. Don’t forget about the silent majority who are on your side! (for the record, I didn’t read the post until the comments section was shut down.)

  8. Further to what Kay said, I bet there were a lot of silent spectators to that thread, and you had more allies than you realized. It was unfortunate that none spoke up, but that seems to happen once a few people get into a heated argument (no one else wants to become their targets). People were being jerks, it was pretty obvious to probably everyone but themselves. Don’t forget about the silent majority who are on your side! (for the record, I didn’t read the post until the comments section was shut down.)

  9. I hope I didn’t unintentionally insult anyone when I was lamenting that no one spoke up, it just really sucked at the time and was frustrating for me.

    The whole thing was rife with logical fallacy and attitude problems that we make fun of fundies for: groupthink, poisoning the well, ad hominem, guilt by association, straw man, etc. It was like an encyclopedia of frustration. So disappointing, so I can see how people wouldn’t want to get involved in a mess like that.

  10. I hope I didn’t unintentionally insult anyone when I was lamenting that no one spoke up, it just really sucked at the time and was frustrating for me.

    The whole thing was rife with logical fallacy and attitude problems that we make fun of fundies for: groupthink, poisoning the well, ad hominem, guilt by association, straw man, etc. It was like an encyclopedia of frustration. So disappointing, so I can see how people wouldn’t want to get involved in a mess like that.

  11. You know, ever since this happened and you mentioned how Skepchick just didn’t have the same zing it used to, and that since the advent of the afternoon inquisition its content had really gone down, I’ve been noticing it too. The AI’s usually just turn into a bunch of ego-stroking and fluffy conversations. When you try to divert it back to something interesting, it never seems to work. Not that fluff doesn’t have a place from time to time, but it seems to be the order of the day now, rather than just the exception to the rule.
    oh well.

  12. Heathencat: Yeah, it’s really not my cup of tea.

    Not that I want to be super serious all the time, but on a skeptic site I prefer to discuss things that have some objective qualities as opposed to, for example, “what is your addiction? does addiction have evolutionary benefit?” (the most recent AI) – what am I supposed to learn from an internet contributors “I think…” on that topic? A quick breeze through that particular AI (as of this comment) turned up no links to any scientific resources demonstrating an objective answer to the question.

    It’s not the skepchicks’ “fault” that people discuss things a certain way, but that kind of discussion doesn’t interest me and it (apparently) leads to dumbass arguments – which is why I have stopped commenting. I still appreciate the other work that the Skepchicks do (SGU, personal blogs, Teen Skepchick), and I still check out the quickies, but the AIs and the comments are lost on me. It’s unfortunate, but maybe they won’t be around forever or maybe they’ll improve. We’ll see I guess.