Angry_Letter.doc UPDATE

I have emailed a copy of my letter to the Opinions editor at the Dalhousie student paper – The Gazette. Hopefully that’ll get printed and raise some publicity on campus. And hopefully the non-religious students at the school will also be pissed enough to write… I’ve included my letter to the paper below.

Hello,

I’m not sure if anyone has heard of this news story, but there is an atheist campaign (more details on their website http://atheistbus.ca/ ) attempting to purchase ads on Halifax busses. This has been refused by the Metro Transit public affairs office (see: http://atheistbus.ca/2009/02/03/halifax-says-no-to-atheist-bus-campaign-slogan/ ).

I have written a letter to the public affairs rep, Lori Patterson, and Mayor Peter Kelly regarding this issue. I have included the letter as an attachment to this email. I give permission for you to reprint this letter in the school paper if you wish to publicize this gross violation of the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. I think many students on campus would be moved to write a letter on this issue also.

The relevant contacts, should students wish to write, are:

[same addresses as I put in my last post]

Please let me know if you would like more information and whether you decide to print anything on this issue, as I am out of town and will not see the paper as it comes out.

Thank you for your consideration.

[attachment: the letter I wrote to Peter and Lori]

Also, for any of you who didn’t see my update comment on the other post, Peter wrote back to me:

“Thank you for sharing your thoughts.”

Hmm… Hopefully his brief reply is an indication of the shit storm that has been released upon him and not a polite “I don’t fucking care”.

Also see Friendly Atheist‘s comments.

Lastly, does anyone live in Victoria or know the scoop there?

Lies. It wasn’t the last thing. Also see Steve’s take over at Some Canadian Skeptic.

One response to “Angry_Letter.doc UPDATE

  1. At least you got a reply….

    sheesh

    I am waiting for bus slogans to come to the Silicon Valley.