Why I Like the Bus Campaign

This might seem like a stupid sentence given that it’s pretty much obvious that an atheist, who believes strongly in freedom of speech and freedom of/from religion, would like the new Bus Campaign (also see their Facebook page), but I’ll explain anyway.

When I first figured out the word “atheist” (the word that described why I had been “different” all those years and why the catechism teacher was none too fond of me), I thought I was the only one in the world. There was no one like me. Something was wrong. Why couldn’t I just belive like everyone else? Why did it not make sense to me? I never figured that out. Then I heard there was another kid at school who also didn’t believe in god. I immediately developed a crush on him – we were 2 of a kind after all – but that didn’t pan out. Alas. Nevertheless…he existed.

Then I went to university and I discovered there weren’t 2 of us, there were dozens of us. A little network of people fighting the good fight on an internet “debate”: evolution vs. creationism. I made a handful of friends after our online debate moved live. I’m now engaged to one of them. Hey maybe I wasn’t so weird after all…

Then I discovered skeptics and atheists on the internet – a social system for people who, like me, found themselves a lot of the time feeling rather alone in their surroundings and seeking out. I sought, I found. There were thousands of us.

Now the bus campaign. Country after country they are popping up (US, UK, Canada, Brazil)… A way for atheists (and supportive non-atheists) to shout out “We exist!” or “We support you!” Voices that are getting harder and harder to ignore. There are millions of us.

Hundreds of millions.

My world just keeps getting bigger. And it’s nice not to feel so silent and alone.

2 responses to “Why I Like the Bus Campaign

  1. Is it really so backwards out there? I grew up in the GTA, and I have never felt like an outsider, or that I was somehow different than everybody else. In fact, I have always felt that most people believed as I did. I may have been wrong, but I certainly never felt that I was seriously outnumbered by the religious. Lucky accident of birth, I guess.

  2. Yes, it is that bad where I grew up. You could be one of a few things (church-going believer, non-church-going believer, or non-christian religious), but not an atheist. If you were, you hid. It fucking sucked.