Too Easy

We saw this…book?…in the checkout at the grocery store.

“The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Christian Prayers & Devotion”. You have no idea how much I’m restraining myself right now. Mostly because I don’t want to ruin the potential comments which (if any) are sure to be hilarious.

There’ s also.


So, the people who wrote the Bible totally had copies of the Christian fiction one right? And then there’s this:


My favorite part is how this is supposed to make you smart. I went to catechism for 8 years. I was known as “the one who asks questions” and was not well-liked by the coordinator as a result of that. If catechism makes you anything, it isn’t smart. “Spirituality” is one thing; unquestioningly following ancient patriarchal nonsense is another.

Go to town.

4 responses to “Too Easy

  1. okay I’ll be the first to comment, as a failed alter boy. I had to laugh out loud at the titles, I am curious to see when the idiot’s guide to Scientology makes an appearance.

    I do know how to write christian fiction somewhat, just think of the most outlandish plot,add some sex and violence, but the crucial thing is at the end, add a few dozen hail Mary’s and considerable hand wringing and flagellation, instant forgiveness. Isn’t faith a wonderful thing. If you can’t think of anything, just plagiarize it worked before.

  2. okay I’ll be the first to comment, as a failed alter boy. I had to laugh out loud at the titles, I am curious to see when the idiot’s guide to Scientology makes an appearance.

    I do know how to write christian fiction somewhat, just think of the most outlandish plot,add some sex and violence, but the crucial thing is at the end, add a few dozen hail Mary’s and considerable hand wringing and flagellation, instant forgiveness. Isn’t faith a wonderful thing. If you can’t think of anything, just plagiarize it worked before.

  3. I gotcha beat. I used to work at a certain huge bookstore chain that I eventually had to quit for (among other things) having to schill for crap like this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Idiots-Guide-Palmistry/dp/0028631137

  4. I almost know your pain. I’m an avid reader and whenever I’m into a bookstore I see a wall of Sylvia Browne, mounds of Oprah’s book club, Kevin Trudeau’s crap, The Secret, a huge religious section…and one shelf of science and technology “section”, which is mostly tech books and the most common science books (i.e., ones I’ve definitely already read). It makes me stabby.

    I’ve embarrassed my partner a few times being unable to control my ire in the bookstore at their willingness to sell especially Kevin Trudeau’s bullshit to people. He’s so far managed to talk me down from accosting the manager about it, but I don’t know how long that will last. So now I usually buy online. :)