the art of public humiliation

Why is it that after a man is found out for cheating on his wife, AND maybe doing it in a way that is illegal, she is paraded around the next day with him while he admits it?

I get the whole “stand by your man” thing. I do. Even though I don’t think I could do it, I can understand why women would want to work things out rather than give up a marriage they might have been in for the last 20 years or so. And, who knows, maybe she doesn’t care. Maybe they have one of those separate beds kind of relationships.

But regardless of the situation, I can’t for the life of me understand the mentality of a person that asks a woman to parade herself in front of millions of people in a situation of total humiliation that she did not cause and is not responsible for. I also don’t understand how these women can bring themselves to honor the request (or offer…whatever the case may be). It’s one thing to stand by your man, it’s another to have to do it in public in the midst of countless media attention.

And…they’re politicians! How could they possibly think that no one would find out about their various extracurriculars? They subject their wives (or if a woman ever gets into power, maybe husbands) to psychological distress (maybe – there’s always the “I don’t care” possibility), public mortification, and risk of sexually transmitted diseases.

Yet there she is. Standing there with a face of stoic solidarity, next to their husband while he admits to a nation that he boned a prostitute, got a blowjob from an intern, or had sex with another man.

I don’t get it.

Comments are closed.